Introductory Promo Offer for New CUT&RUN Products!* | Learn More >>

Senescence Signaling

© Cell Signaling Technology. All Rights Reserved.
highlighted node

Pathway Description:

Cellular senescence is an adaptive response induced by multiple physiological and pathological stressors, resulting in a permanent state of cell cycle arrest. Senescence provides a defense mechanism to maintain tissue homeostasis and limit tumor formation by enabling tissue remodeling through the sequestration and removal of damaged cells. However, the accumulation of persistent senescent cells has been implicated as a major cause of age-related pathologies and inflammatory diseases. Over five decades ago, Leonard Hayflick and Paul Moorhead reported a seminal discovery that human cells exhibit replicative senescence—a finite proliferative capacity in vitro caused by the progressive shortening of the telomeric regions at the ends of chromosomes—which triggers a DNA damage response (DDR) and leads to cell cycle arrest. Similarly, cellular senescence can result in response to DNA damage by irradiation or chemotherapeutics, as well as tumor suppressor loss, elevated reactive oxygen species, and mitochondrial dysfunction. These stimuli signal via a number of intracellular pathways—including the DDR components ATR, ATM, and p53—which converge on the activation of cyclin dependent kinase inhibitors (CDKIs)—p16, p21, and p27—and lead to hyperphosphorlyation of the retinoblastoma protein (RB) and ultimately, withdrawal from the cell cycle.

Although senescent cells no longer proliferate, they remain metabolically active and display characteristic morphological and physiological changes associated with the state. Namely, senescent cells have an enlarged, flattened shape in vitro and exhibit disrupted nuclear envelope integrity due to decreased expression of lamin B1. The accumulation of β-galactosidase, a result of altered lysosomal activity, is a hallmark of cellular senescence. Chromatin reorganization, specifically the formation of senescence associated heterochromatin foci (SAHF), is a frequently observed biomarker of cells undergoing oncogene-induced senescence and can be detected by immunoreactivity for macroH2A, lysine 9 di-or-tri-methylated histone H3 (H3K9Me2/3), and heterochromatin protein 1 (HP1). Indicators of DNA damage, including the phosphorylation of the Ser-139 residue of the histone variant H2AX (forming γH2AX), can also be examined in combination with additional biomarkers to assess senescence.

Senescent cells often show dramatic changes in their secretome, a phenomenon known as the senescence-associated secretory phenotype (SASP). SASP entails the upregulation and release of many pro-inflammatory cytokines (e.g. IL-6/IL-1β), proteases (MMP3), and growth factors which exert a range of autocrine/paracrine effects on the surrounding tissue microenvironment. SASP has been reported to have both beneficial effects and detrimental consequences depending on cellular context. For example, SASP can recruit immune cells to initiate tissue repair through the removal of damaged cells, but has also been linked to angiogenesis and ECM remodeling to promote tumor cell progression.

Unraveling the mechanisms that underlie cellular senescence and its role in human disease has broad therapeutic implications for age-related pathologies, the promotion of tissue remodeling and regeneration, and the treatment of cancer.

Selected Reviews:

created September 2019

Acetylase
Metabolic Enzyme
Adaptor
Methyltransferase or G-protein
Apoptosis/Autophagy Regulator
Phosphatase
Cell Cycle Regulator
Protein Complex
Deacetylase or Cytoskeletal Protein
Receptor
Growth Factor/Cytokine/Development Protein
Transcription Factor or Translation Factor
GTPase/GAP/GEF
Ubiquitin/SUMO Ligase or Deubiquitinase
Kinase
Other
 
Direct Stimulatory Modification
Direct Stimulatory Modification
Transcriptional Stimulatory Modification
Transcriptional Stimulation
Direct Inhibitory Modification
Direct Inhibitory Modification
Transcriptional Inhibition
Transcriptional Inhibition
Multistep Stimulatory Modification
Multistep Stimulatory Modification
Joining of Subunits
Joining of Subunits
Multistep Inhibitory Modification
Multistep Inhibitory Modification
Translocation
Translocation
Tentative Stimulatory Modification
Tentative Stimulatory Modification
Separation of Subunits or Cleavage Products
Separation of Subunits or Cleavage Products
Tentative Inhibitory Modification
Tentative Inhibitory Modification

Einführungsangebot für neue CUT&RUN-Produkte!* | Mehr erfahren >>

Signaltransduktion Seneszenz

© Cell Signaling Technology. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
hervorgehobener Knoten

Beschreibung des Signalwegs:

Die zelluläre Seneszenz ist eine adaptive Antwort, die durch viele verschiedene physiologische und pathologische Stressoren ausgelöst wird und zu einem Zustand des permanenten Zellzyklus-Arrests führt. Die Seneszenz bietet einen Abwehrmechanismus, durch den die Gewebehomöostase aufrechterhalten und die Tumorbildung eingeschränkt wird. Dies geschieht, indem durch Sequestrierung und Beseitigung geschädigter Zellen eine Umgestaltung des Gewebes ermöglicht wird. Die Anhäufung von andauernd verbleibenden seneszenten Zellen wurde jedoch verdächtigt eine der Hauptursachen von altersbedingten und entzündlichen Erkrankungen zu sein. Vor über fünf Jahrzehnten berichteten Leonard Hayflick und Paul Moorhead die bahnbrechende Entdeckung, dass menschliche Zellen eine replikative Seneszenz aufweisen – eine in vitro begrenzte Proliferationskapazität, die durch die fortschreitende Verkürzung der Telomerregionen am Ende von Chromosomen verursacht wird. Letztere löst eine DNA-Schadensantwort (DDR, DNA Damage Response) aus und führt zum Zellzyklus-Arrest. Ebenso kann die zelluläre Seneszenz auch als Reaktion auf DNA-Schäden infolge von Bestrahlung oder Chemotherapeutika auftreten, sowie als Reaktion auf den Verlust von Tumorsuppressoren, erhöhte Konzentrationen an reaktiven Sauerstoffspezies und mitochondriale Fehlfunktionen. Durch diese Stimuli ausgelöste Signale werden über etliche intrazelluläre Signalwege übertragen – einschließlich der DDR-Komponenten ATR, ATM und p53 – die in der Aktivierung der cyclinabhängigen Kinaseinhibitoren (CDKIs, Cyclin Dependent Kinase Inhibitors) p16, p21 und p27 zusammenlaufen. Dies führt zu einer Hyperphosphorylierung des Retinoblastom-Proteins (Rb) und letztendlich zu einem Austritt aus dem Zellzyklus.

Obwohl seneszente Zellen nicht mehr länger proliferieren, bleiben sie dennoch stoffwechselaktiv und zeigen charakteristische morphologische und physiologische Veränderungen, die mit diesem Stadium zusammenhängen. Seneszente Zellen weisen in vitro eine vergrößerte und abgeflachte Form auf sowie eine gestörte Integrität der Kernhülle, die auf die verminderte Expression von Lamin B1 zurückzuführen ist. Die Anhäufung von β-Galaktosidase als Folge einer veränderten lysosomalen Aktivität stellt ein Hauptmerkmal der zellulären Seneszenz dar. Ein häufig zu beobachtender Biomarker von Zellen, die eine Onkogen-induzierte Seneszenz aufweisen, ist die Umorganisation von Chromatin, insbesondere die Bildung von Seneszenz-assoziierten Heterochromatin-Foci (SAHF). Diese kann durch eine Immunreaktivität gegen macroH2A, H3K9Me2/3 (Histone H3 di-oder-tri-methyliert an Lysin 9) und Heterochromatin-Protein 1 (HP1) nachgewiesen werden. Auch Indikatoren von DNA-Schaden, darunter die Phosphorylierung des Ser-139-Restes der Histonvariante H2AX (wodurch γH2AX entsteht), können in Kombination mit zusätzlichen Biomarkern untersucht werden, um die Seneszenz zu bestimmen.

Oftmals weisen senseszente Zellen dramatische Veränderungen in ihrem Sekretom auf. Dieses Phänomen ist als Seneszenz-assoziierter sekretorischer Phänotyp (SASP) bekannt. Der SASP bringt die Hochregulierung und Freisetzung vieler pro-inflammatorischer Zytokine (z. B. IL-6/IL-1β), Proteasen (MMP3) und Wachstumsfaktoren mit sich, die eine Reihe von autokrinen/parakrinen Wirkungen auf die umliegende Gewebe-Mikroumgebung ausüben. Über den SASP wurde berichtet, dass er sowohl vorteilhafte Auswirkungen als auch nachteilige Konsequenzen mit sich bringt, je nach zellulärem Kontext. Der SASP kann zum Beispiel Immunzellen rekrutieren, um über die Beseitigung geschädigter Zellen die Gewebereparatur einzuleiten. Er wurde jedoch auch mit der Angiogenese und dem Umbau der extrazellulären Matrix (ECM, Extracellular Matrix) in Verbindung gebracht, die die Weiterentwicklung von Tumorzellen fördern.

Erforschung der Mechanismen, die der zellulären Seneszenz zugrunde liegen, und deren Rolle in menschlichen Erkrankungen, hat weitreichende therapeutische Bedeutung für altersbedingte Krankheiten, für die Förderung des Gewebeumbaus und der -regeneration und für die Behandlung von Krebs.

Ausgewählte Übersichtsarbeiten:

Erstellt im September 2019

  • KinaseKinase
  • PhosphatasePhosphatase
  • TranskriptionsfaktorTranskriptionsfaktor
  • CaspaseCaspase
  • RezeptorRezeptor
  • EnzymEnzym
  • pro-apoptotischpro-apoptotisch
  • pro-Überlebenpro-Überleben
  • GAP/GEFGAP/GEF
  • GTPaseGTPase
  • G-ProteinG-Protein
  • AcetylaseAcetylase
  • DeacetylaseDeacetylase
  • Ribosomale UntereinheitRibosomale Untereinheit
  • Direkt stimulierende ModifikationDirekt stimulierende Modifikation
  • Direkt hemmende ModifikationDirekt hemmende Modifikation
  • Mehrstufig stimulierende ModifikationMehrstufig stimulierende Modifikation
  • Mehrstufig hemmende ModifikationMehrstufig hemmende Modifikation
  • Vorläufig stimulierende ModifikationVorläufig stimulierende Modifikation
  • Vorläufig hemmende ModifikationVorläufig hemmende Modifikation
  • Auftrennen von Untereinheiten oder SpaltungsproduktenAuftrennen von Untereinheiten oder Spaltungsprodukten
  • Verbinden von UntereinheitenVerbinden von Untereinheiten
  • Translokation Translokation
  • Transkriptionell stimulierende ModifikationTranskriptionell stimulierende Modifikation
  • Transkriptionell hemmende ModifikationTranskriptionell hemmende Modifikation
Powered By OneLink